Intro to Chakras

What are Chakras? The literal translation in sanksrit is "wheel of light." For basic understanding the chakreas are wheels of light or energy channels that run up and down our bodies.

So what is energy. It has many connotations and levels of understanding. In Laymans terms Energy can explained by the energy that powers our electricity. It is an invisible force that is all around us and that permeates us. We get "energy" or liveliness from food, sleep, moving our bodies, & self-care.

Our limited capacity has been able to tap into this "energy" again with electricity, fossil fuels, etc. On the contrary, the connotation we are talking about energy today is much more spiritual and requires a deeper understanding and maybe a little bit of imagination or faith to the things unseen.

Even though energy is unseen, it can be felt, channeled, manifested, and harnessed like the energy that powers a light bulb. After putting that into perspective with a real world example that we have all experienced, lets dive a little deeper. Our bodies have many levels that we differentiate on thier subtlety. We Touched on Gross & Subtleness in our previous posts. We have our gross or physical body that is sometimes called our food body, as our cells are made out of the food we eat. We have our energy body that is sometimes seen as an aura. We have a mental body, an emotional body, and a physical body. All of these "bodies" serve as perceptors to communicate with the world around us and that which permeates us. We will dive deeper into these another day.

Back to the energy body. Our energetic bodies are fields of electromagnetic energy that surround and permeate us, and can be seen as a stepping stone between the physical world and the etheric one. This is where things exist but are unseen, like radio waves.

The Chakras are a connector or channel to our physical bodies and the energetic world. We have 7 basic chakras that help us to connect to our basic human needs, emotions, and help us to dive deeper into our human and universal conciousness. They also help us to connect to our intuiton. Every Chakra has a very specific function and the course, much like the 8 limbs of yoga, is to work from the bottom or the most gross level to the most subtle. The practice is to build a strong foundation and build upon that to reach greater levels of conciousness.

The seven Chakras are

1. Muladhara or Root Chakra

2. Svadhishthana or Sacral Chakra

3. Solar Plexus

4. Anahata or Heart Chakra

5. Throat Chakra

6. Third Eye Chakra

7. Crown Chakra

Over the next Week we will dive in to a new Chakra Everyday and learn some ways in how to work with and support them.


20 views0 comments

Phone : (701) 757-0206


Grand Forks, ND

  • Instagram
  • Facebook Social Icon